traffic offense possession of a driver’s license

by | Oct 23, 2016 | Traffic Offense

In Pennsylvania, it is a traffic offense unless you are in possession of  a driver’s license when you operate a motor vehicle. If you are a licensed driver, it is required that you carry your license on you at all times while operating a motor vehicle. DUI PBT tests According to Title 75 section 1511 of the crimes code, it is a traffic offense even if you are in possession of a driver’s license, if the driver does not exhibit the license upon demand to a police officer when requested by the police officer. There are a couple different steps that can be taken in order to avoid penalty if you are caught driving without your license on you. In order to avoid penalty, you can bring your valid driver’s license to the headquarters of the police officer who demanded to see the license within 15 days of the demand. If a citation has been filed, you can avoid penalty by producing your valid driver’s license at the office of the issuing authority within 15 days of the filing of the citation. Failure to do so will result in charges for driving without a license.

It is illegal in the state of Pennsylvania to drive any motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license. According to the Title 75 section 1501 of the Pennsylvania crimes code, no person, except those expressly exempted, shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway or public property in this Commonwealth unless the person has a valid driver’s license. DUI charges “Public property” includes, but is not limited to, driveways and parking lots owned or leased by the Commonwealth, a political subdivision or an agency or instrumentality of either. Under this section, you are not to steer or have any physical control over a vehicle being towed without having a valid driver’s license. There is a limitation on the number of driver’s licenses one person can possess at a time. If you are looking to get a valid driver’s license in PA, you are unable to do so until you surrender all other valid licenses from other states to the department. You are only allowed to have one valid driver’s license at a time. An exception to this would be if you have a valid driver’s license as well as a commercial driver’s license. If you drive a motor vehicle without having a driver’s license, you are committing a summary offense. If you are found guilty of this offense, you could be sentenced to pay a fine of $200. If you are able to prove that you held a driver’s license valid on the last day of the previous driver’s license period and no more than one year has elapsed from the last date for renewal, the fine imposed will be $25. If you find yourself facing charges for driving without a valid driver’s license, it is important to meet with a criminal defense attorney. A criminal defense attorney will best be able to establish the facts of your case and determine the best possible course of action to take.​

FindLaw Network